My Rating – 4.5 Stars Hardcover, 368 pages

Expected publication: January 21st 2020 by Wednesday Books

Plot: Meet Pepper, swim team captain, chronic overachiever, and all-around perfectionist. Her family may be falling apart, but their massive fast-food chain is booming ― mainly thanks to Pepper, who is barely managing to juggle real life while secretly running Big League Burger’s massive Twitter account. Enter Jack, class clown and constant thorn in Pepper’s side. When he isn’t trying to duck out of his obscenely popular twin’s shadow, he’s busy working in his family’s deli. His relationship with the business that holds his future might be love/hate, but when Big League Burger steals his grandma’s iconic grilled cheese recipe, he’ll do whatever it takes to take them down, one tweet at a time. All’s fair in love and cheese ― that is, until Pepper and Jack’s spat turns into a viral Twitter war. Little do they know, while they’re publicly dunking it out with snarky memes and retweet battles, they’re also falling for each other in real life ― on an anonymous chat app Jack built.

This was cute! One such book that makes the readers go crazy and they literally love every page of it . I was one such reader and I absolutely adored the MCs and the plot-lines . Welcome to the present time retelling of “You’ve got mail!”. “You’ve got mail ” is one such movie that is my all time favorite and I absolutely adore the movie . The story is so cheesy , cute and adorable. I absolutely gorged the book , just like I would gorge the the cheese burger and fries . One of the best part of the books is its references of food and baking in the book and all of it makes it yummier and tastier .

I enjoyed the Twitter war and I could see this being a hit for younger readers with all the pop culture references and social media playing a big part in the book. While this was cute, this does tackle a few serious topics. I also liked that it talks about the dreaded what’s next after high school question. I hated that question and I hate that people still expect teens to automatically know what they want to do. I’m going to move on because I could go on about that forever.

“Apparently in the vast arsenal of useless talents that aren’t going to help me get into college, I am really good at being snarky on Twitter.”

 I devoured this adorably food centric rom-com about Pepper and Jack, and I can’t wait to read more of the author . This was such a fun sweet lighthearted rom-com! Emma Lord has written a delightful debut that put a big smile on my face. This book easily became an instant favorite because it has all the cute fluffiness of enemies-to-lovers, fun family relationships, delicious food descriptions, and classic high school drama.